Christmas – done

Thank god Christmas is over for another year. I really enjoy being festive and shopping for or making gifts for everyone. However, as soon as we’re in the car on the way to the Parents-in-law I feel like I’m counting down the minutes until I can leave again. It’s to the point where I’d rather not have Christmas at all.
We’re fortunate that both sets of parents live within half an hour of each other. This means that we can easily see both families in one visit. Unfortunately, we end up spending the majority of our time with my husbands family and over the last 10 years I’ve come to resent this. Each year we spend around 2 hours with my family and the rest of the day at the in-laws.
I thought that it might be nicer this year as we have our son but it was actually worse. I was constantly being undermined with my parenting skills as well as bossed around and critiqued on everything else. (Why don’t you cook well? Why are you still breast feeding? Etc).
I’ve decided that next year we’re staying home. Fuck them. 

Leave a Reply

